Listen Live
Local Weather
Russellville, AL
Weather Alert

Strange leads Franklin write-in vote tally

With overseas, provisional and write-in ballots now counted in Alabama, the result remains the same from the December 12th Senate election. Doug Jones maintained a lead of more than 20,000 votes.

According to Ala. Secretary of State John Merrill, who received one write-in vote in Franklin County, there were 366 overseas ballots returned, 4,967 provisional ballots received and 2,888 of those verified.

As far as write-in votes, each of Alabama's 67 counties turned in those results as well on December 19th. The final election results are expected to be certified between December 26th and January 3rd.

Franklin County Probate Judge Barry Moore's office released the write-in results from Franklin County voters. 48 write-in votes were counted and surprisingly, Nick Saban, was way down on the list.

Current Sen. Luther Strange garnered the most write-in votes in Franklin County, with 15. Lee Busby, who worked an active write-in campaign for the Senate seat, received 10 votes. Sen. Trip Pittman received four votes, Libertarian candidate Ron Bishop three votes and former state senator Roger Bedford received two votes.

Saban and Merrill joined a list of 12 others who received one vote each in Franklin County. They included: Billy Joe Mitchell, Charles Barkley, Gregory Williams, James Webb, Kyle Taylor, Meredith Wood, Michael Bishop, Rep. Mo Brooks, Special Counsel Robert Mueller, former Auburn coach Tommy Tuberville, Star Wars villain Sheev Polpatine and one vote was cast for “blank.”

After the counting of military, provisional and write-in ballots, Jones' margin of victory remained more than 0.5 percent, so no automatic recount was triggered under Alabama state law.

comments powered by Disqus
Copyright © 2018 Franklin Free Press All Rights Reserved.
Designed and Hosted by RiverBender.com
113 Washington Ave. NW | Russellville, AL 35653 | 256-332-0255