WGOL
Listen Live
Local Weather
Russellville, AL
82°

2018-19 calendar for county schools includes full week off for Thanksgiving

The Franklin County Board of Education approved the school calendar for 2018-19 at its February 27 meeting.

The new school year will begin for students on Tuesday, August 7, 2018. There will be a teacher work day on Thursday, August 2 and the annual bus drivers in-service meeting is set for that same day at Belgreen High School. Faculty in-service days are set for Friday, August 3 (Red Bay) and Monday, August 6 (Belgreen).

The calendar includes three half-days for students, with dismissal at 11:30 a.m. Those include Thursday, October 18; Wednesday, December 19; and Thursday, May 23, 2019, the last day of school. Parent-teacher conferences will take place from 1-4 p.m. on October 18.

The Christmas holidays will run from December 19 at 11:30 a.m. through January 2, 2019. Teachers will return for in-service days on January 3-4, with students returning to school on Monday, January 7, 2019.

One change with this year’s calendar is during Thanksgiving week. Students will now enjoy the entire week off from Monday, November 19 through Friday, November 23.

There is a snow day built in on President’s Day, Monday, February 18, 2019.

Senior graduations will take place on Friday, May 24, 2019.

The complete calendar can be accessed on the Franklin County Schools’ website, www.franklin.k12.al.us.

comments powered by Disqus
Copyright © 2018 Franklin Free Press All Rights Reserved.
Designed and Hosted by RiverBender.com
113 Washington Ave. NW | Russellville, AL 35653 | 256-332-0255