Listen Live
Local Weather
Russellville, AL

Stutts to face three challengers in Republican Primary

Qualifying for elected office in Alabama during the 2018 primary cycle ended Friday afternoon for federal, state and local candidates.

Sen. Larry Stutts (R-Tuscumbia) has qualified to seek a second term representing Alabama Senate District Six.

According to the Alabama Republican Party website, Stutts has opposition from three challengers: Daniel Boman, a former state representative who lives in Winfield, Steve Lolley, a banker from Guin, and Eric Aycock.

Rep. Johnny Mack Morrow (D-Red Bay) was the lone qualifier for the Democratic nomination for Senate District Six. Morrow chose not to run for reelection to the House District 18 seat he has held since 1990 in order to seek the Senate seat.

There will be a contested primary in the race for Morrow's successor, at least on the Republican side, where Russellville businessman Jamie Kiel will face Colbert County resident Tony Riley. Riley is general counsel and human resources manager for Tiffin Motor Homes, Inc., in Red Bay.

Former Belgreen High School Principal Eddie Britton has qualified for House District 18 on the Democratic side. No opponent for Britton was listed in the Democratic Primary.

Rep. Ken Johnson (R-Moulton) qualified for another term representing House District Seven. Proncey Robertson, a lieutenant with the Decatur Police Department and a Mount Hope resident, also qualified to run as a Republican.

According to multiple sources, Johnson was considering withdrawing from the race, which would leave Robertson as the lone Republican candidate.

Northwest-Shoals Community College psychology professor Ken Brackins qualified for the House District Seven race as a Democrat.

John “Jody” Letson shows an active campaign committee according to the Alabama Secretary of State's Office, but Letson did not appear on the list of Democratic candidates who have qualified for office as of 5 p.m., Friday.

Franklin County resident Rick Neighbors will face Lee Auman in the Democratic Primary for Alabama's Fourth Congressional District in the U.S. House of Representatives. Rep. Robert Aderholt (R-Haleyville) has no Republican opposition in his quest for a 12th term.

In the Franklin County Board of Education District Five race, incumbent Democrat Mike Shewbart will face primary opposition from Ralph Winchester, who previously held the board seat. There was no Republican candidate to qualify.

Ralton Baker, who represents District One on the Franklin BOE, had no primary or general election opposition as of late Friday afternoon.

Franklin County Coroner Elzie Malone will seek another term and is unopposed in the Democratic Primary. Charles Adcox has qualified to run for coroner in the Republican Primary.

Franklin County District Judge Paula McDowell, Franklin County Circuit Clerk Anita Scott and Franklin County Circuit Judge Terry Dempsey each are unopposed in the Democratic Primary and had no Republican opponent as of 5 p.m., Friday.

Franklin County Sheriff Shannon Oliver appears headed to another term as Oliver had no opponent in the Democratic Primary and no Republican candidate had qualified as of late Friday.

Russellville resident Lowell Moore qualified for Franklin County Place One on the Alabama Republican State Executive Committee and Yvonne Foster qualified for a seat on the Democratic State Executive Committee.

Alabama Primary elections are set for Tuesday, June 5, 2018.

comments powered by Disqus
Copyright © 2018 Franklin Free Press All Rights Reserved.
Designed and Hosted by RiverBender.com
113 Washington Ave. NW | Russellville, AL 35653 | 256-332-0255